CUSTOMER REVIEWS

01/2021

Google Review by Barbara Kennedy

5 STARS

I got a terrific haircut and style with Valerie. I've already booked my next appointment for next month. Her salon is also a boutique with lots of vintage offerings.

01/2021

Google Review by Sam Beaster

5 STARS

Valerie is great. She has been cutting and coloring my hair for over 20 years. I take my two daughters to her as well. She always makes sure I am happy with the results. She offers opinions on color choices. I trust Valerie so much that there have been times when i just tell her to pick a good color for me and I havent been disappointed.

01/2021

Google Review by Mary Kay Summers

5 STARS

08/2020

Google Review by Pats

5 STARS

'I Feel like a Woman'. Let's face it, it's been a rough year. So, I treated myself to a luxurious hair wash and style. And, I feel like a new woman. Valerie is a perfectionist. Very knowledgeable, creative and friendly. I really needed a consult on the best way to give my hair body and bounce, and Valerie came through for me! I highly recommend this charming salon.. 5 star performance!

 

06/30/2019

by Jennifer Overbeck-Souder

Great experience!! Love the shopping! Supporting local business. - Nice décor · Experienced stylists · Good with children · Family-owned business · Great haircuts

06/28/2019

by Natalie Evans

Such a great boutique and Valerie is a wonder hair stylist. Love her!!!

5/07/2019

by Sabian Blunk

I called here on a Tuesday at 11:10 and Valerie was able to get me in at 11:50! I can honestly say she gave me the best haircut I've had in my 22 years of living. I can finally feel confident with my hairstyle. Even though it was my first time meeting Valerie, she made me feel as comfortable as if I had known her for years.

05/27/2018

Valerie did a great job on my hair! I had hair down to my mid-back. I came in looking for balayage and a cut just under my collar bone. I brought in a picture. She talked to me about the picture and the process, and showed me color swatches to see how light I wanted to go before she did anything


For the consultation, cut, balayage, and styling it took close to three hours. (A welcome vacation from packing with a toddler!) Valerie nailed the cut! She got the exact length I was looking for, and worked some magic on the side-swept bangs I had cut for myself. The balayage looks great too! I'm so happy, and I know I'll be coming back  next time! 

Valerie also sells beautiful fresh cut flowers on Friday and Saturday, and has an adorable boutique downstairs! It's a quaint spot, and the service was excellent!

04/24/2018

Great cut at a good price. It's worth the little extra cost to have an appt., and the same stylist competently, and knowingly, cut your hair the way you like it.

02/16/2017

by Pam Hendrickson

Yesterday was my first time and i loved what Valerie did with my hair.. Thank you

01/06/2016
by Betina Malless Marsh
Love this place! Can’t wait to have Valerie Ellis use her magical hair cutting scissors on my over grown mess. Looking to shake things up a bit. Valerie, are you ready?

01/05/2016
by Beth Simmons Minnick
Great haircut today by Valerie. Really enjoy the time with her.

12/30/2015
by Muriel King
Hello!! l’m coming back from France tomorrow with chocolate  I think I’m ready to go to a purplish black for my hair color when I come in for my appointment! Excited!!! Happy holidays!!!

12/08/2014
by Muriel King
Hi guys!
Valerie, I just wanted to say that my hair color is amazing!!! The new thing you tried is awesome  I LOVE IT!!!

06/19/2014
I scheduled an appointment for a facial, dermaplane, and chemical peel with Katie, at the recommendation of a friend. Not only was I completely satisfied with the service I received, but the salon and boutique are absolutely adorable. I was able to completely relax and it was very quickly obvious to me that I had made the right choice. Katie was very professional and knowledgeable. She was also very friendly. I love a salon/spa that is comfortable without being pretentious and quaint without feeling cheap, and Sign of the Tymes really fit the bill for me. I felt like the pricing was fair for the quality of service and amount of time she spent with me. I left feeling relaxed and radiant after scheduling my next appointment.

11/18/2013
I’ve had some bad haircut experiences, so I’m picky about who touches my hair.  I’ve been coming to A Sign of the Tymes for many years and love it.  The salon is in a lovely old house with loads of character.  My hair stylist knows just how to cut my hair and my husband’s.  Everybody is friendly, plus there is a little boutique downstairs that I can look through while my husband is in the chair. I almost always find something adorable and affordable there.

11/30/2013
Badly needed a haircut and went into Sign Of The Tymes with pictures of the look I was hoping to get. She nailed it! The staff is warm & friendly and the atmosphere is very comfortable as well. I’ll be back! Best colorist and stylist in Indy! – Valerie is the best colorist in Indianapolis. I appreciate her candor and professionalism when advising me about styles that would do well with my hair type and face shape.I have been a longtime customer and have never been let down.  10/11/2012 As a long time customer (20+ years) I can’t give ASOTT a higher rating. The staff are extremely professional and friendly. My wife and I highly recommend Val and her salon!!

 

Apr 17, 2012

by anonymous

From the get go–I walked in the door and the worst week I could never put into words just escaped me.. The unique set-up and eccentric feel of the salon blew me away!!! I had a shellac manicure/pedicure and two weeks went by–not a single chip in… (More) From the get go–I walked in the door and the worst week I could never put into words just escaped me.. The unique set-up and eccentric feel of the salon blew me away!!! I had a shellac manicure/pedicure and two weeks went by–not a single chip in any nail!!!! They made me feel welcome, focused on me and reminded me that it was my time to shine.. I left feeling flooded with self esteem and I will never get nails done by anyone but their awesome STAFF!!!! Thank you!!!

Sign of the Tymes Salon & Boutique  2881 E. 56th. Street – on the Southwest corner of 56th & North Oxford Street – Indianapolis, IN 46220

© 2019 by Sign Of The Tymes Salon & Boutique. Proudly created with Wix.com